stars above the city

the last few months, since i got back from perth, i have been in a void. a gap between two stages in my life. i only have one and a half days left of this void.

i�ve just finished 15 years of education. school is all i�ve known. and the last three years at a country university have got me stuck in my awake at 10 and at the pub for happy hour ways. never in my life have i had to say �sorry, i can�t go i have to work.� uni gave me ultimate freedom, i could take it or leave it, and the only person i ever had to answer to was myself.

and now this is it. i start my job on friday, and the next time i look i will be 65 and retiring. i feel like this is it, i�m an adult now. well, the state has recognised me as an adult for two years now but this is the first time i have actually felt grown up. i stare in the face of rent payments, insurance and credit card bills and i say �bring it on, bitch!�

but i�ve got plans. i�m going to work my ass off for two years and then i�m going overseas for a year, or as long as i can afford. drop out of the slip stream and never look back.

i feel powerful and a little bit sexy as i walk into starbucks on elizabeth and park wearing my spiffiest business clothes. corporate. corporate. but i betray it all by drinking iced coffee through a straw and reading music themed street press and murdoch tabloids.

2004-02-11 4:43 p.m.

light | love