time and space

my head hurts from only four hours of sleep, conducted way after the sun had risen. and my stomach hurts from too much coffee. i did my first overnight shift last night. i took this shift, starting at 10pm, at the last minute to pay for the pair of turquoise chuck taylors i desperately fell in love with yesterday at foot locker. but i am out of my head now. my only plans for today are to pop down to the station to swap my weekly train ticket for a new one, generously paid for by the state government for screwing me over in their recent rail crisis and then it�s back to bed for this little black duck.

one of the interesting things about working with my mother is getting feedback about people�s initial response to meeting me. just about everyone i have met in the last week, who also associates with my mother, has reported back to her with: �oh i met your daughter today, she�s such a sweet girl� or �your daughter is such a lovely person.�

as i said, it�s interesting. in a work environment, it�s not often you get told that you�re lovely, or indeed sweet, to your face. it�s nice to hear. honestly, i think i am a hard person to get to know. and i thought that most people who meet me for the first time see me as rude or just not friendly because i am not a good conversationalist, i�m quite shy, and unless i feel an instant connection with someone, i don�t really have much to say to them. but i have made an effort to try and be friendly, and start conversations with my co-workers. because, god knows, the last thing i need is people telling my mum that i�m a bitch.

now, for the boys at work situation. there�s one boy i have taken quite a shine too, hippy steve. he�s cute in a boy-ish kind of way and he listens to pavement and has a moped. then there is a guy my mum wants me to hook up with because she has a reverse milf crush on him. she says �he�s a bit dumb, but he�s got a lovely smile and he�s such a nice person.� unfortunately for her, he�s 26 years her junior. i haven�t met him yet, but mum is keen to introduce us and is looking for sparks to fly. finally there is a guy who is friends with my mum. he had previously seen what i looked like by logging on to the website i designed for radio last year. i sat next to him last night and he asked me all about the website, and my trip to perth and all this crap. by the end of the night he had snared my mobile phone number �in case i want to swap shifts with you� much to the mirth of my mother who was watching from across the room.

we�ll see how things turn out. it could be good.

2004-02-22 1:25 p.m.

light | love