if you think it then it must be true

blah blah blah, it�s 4am and i am awake. this is nothing unusual lately.

today when i was driving around this city, i noticed that i had to reach into the back seat a few times to grab a tissue and blow my nose, but i paid it no mind. later, i was sitting at the computer, thinking about how itchy the roof of my mouth was, when my mum said to me �you look like you have a black eye.� to which i responded �do i?� and she said �yes. you must be getting sick.� i pondered this notion and said �you know what i think i am.�

how can i ever move out of home when it takes my mother to tell me that i am getting a cold.

after this realisation, and not much sleep at the boy�s place the night before [not in the good way, just that my body clock�s still screwed up from night shift, so i stayed up until about 3 internetting while he slept] i felt like all my energy had been sucked out. so at 6:30pm, instead of watching neighbours, i went to bed, with plans of not getting up for 12 hours.

unfortunately, at midnight i was wide awake. so i read my latest purchase, phaic tan [a wonderfully done spoof on lonely planet and etc travel guides by the guys who made the castle, amongst other things. so far, it�s a lot better than their first book, molvania], for a while. then, i went out into the lounge room with my blankey and watched bowling for columbine.

this was the second time i�ve seen it, and it made me cry both times, although in different places. i just read what i wrote in my old diary about seeing it the first time, and it still rings true.

it made me realise how lucky i am to live in a country that isn't as paranoid about violence as the us. lucky that what australian�s hold dear, and would fight for, is the right to get a fair go, no matter who you are, how much money you have, or where you have come from. the freedom americans, so it seems, would fight for, is their right to protect themselves, as krusty would put it �so you don't have the king of england up in your face�

this is why our health and our welfare systems are so much better than the states, because we believe in the right of every person to get a fair go, so we give the unemployed a hand, and we give people free healthcare. because they deserve a fair go just as much as those of us more fortunate.

anyhoo, this is the last you�ll hear from me for a week or so, im off to qld to get some sun and act all touristy. later yo!

26/11/2004 04:30

light | love